As Christians, Should We Isolate or Integrate?

Hint: “As iron sharpens iron, so a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.” (Proverbs 27:17)

The Holy Spirit has taught me there are times in life when I need to find solitude and reflect on God’s plan for my life.  However, solitude is but for a moment in time.  I must admit there have been times in my life where I have entered solitude for a period longer than required.  What is the danger of remaining in solitude?  Solitude extended leads to isolation, and isolation leads to spiritual deterioration.  Isolation is so attractive because it feels self-protective.  Isolation is really a deceptive tactic of our adversary.  At times this thought has entered my mind: “My Christian brothers have it all together and I’m struggling, so I must pull away and not drag them down with my issues.”

In times past I bought into this lie.  But, today, I recognize it for what it is, a lie, and fight my way back to my Christian brothers.  Our adversary doesn’t like it when Christians come alongside each other, support each other, and hold each other accountable. Why?  Because, unity and mutual support is where we find Victory!

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Gleanings

Leave a Reply

