A Mirror Image

As I sat talking with a group of freshly saved Christian men, a couple of questions kept coming up. These questions: “What does God look like” and “When will I get to see God?” I said to these young men; “I believe I can assist you with your questions, but you must have an open mind.” Then, I said to them, “Please wait here for a moment I will be right back?” So, they patiently waited for me. Meanwhile I walked out of Men’s group, got into my car, and quickly drove to the dollar store. I went into the store and purchased a few small personal sized mirrors. Then I drove back to Men’s group where the young men were awaiting my return. When I walked into the room I was carrying a study bible and the bag of mirrors I had just purchased. I sat down opened my bible and read aloud Genesis 1:26: “Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness.” After reading this, I paused for a moment, then had the young men read the passage – each one of them. As they finished the passage I handed each one a mirror. When the last man finished I said, “Look into the mirror I gave you, what do you see? One young man said, “I see me.” I said, “Exactly, now you know what God looks like, and you are getting to see Him right now as you gaze into the mirror.” I returned to my chair, picked up my bible, and began to read scripture as I wanted the Apostle Paul to do the rest of the talking. Paul said, “we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” (2 Corinthians 3:18) As I closed our meeting time I said to these young men, “Keep the mirror I gave you, but do me a favor. When the world tries to convince you that you are: worthless, helpless, hopeless, and homely. Pull out the mirror, look in it, and see how God really sees you. And remember whose Image you bear (Gen. 1:26).”

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Gleanings

Leave a Reply

