URGENCY ADDICTION

All those years, and I could never put a name to the busyness façade I lived for, and became addicted to. The façade that said, “I was the only one who could do this task or that task” and “The only way this will get done and get done right is if I burn the midnight oil and do it myself; even if I have to sacrifice my time with God and my family to do it.” Yes, I fell for the trap. What trap you ask? The trap of “Urgency Addiction.” Mr. Covey defines “Urgency Addiction” as: “A self-destructive behavior that temporarily fills the void created by unmet needs.” Further he says, “Addiction to urgency is every bit as dangerous as commonly recognized dependencies. Some of us get so used to the adrenaline rush of handling crises that we become dependent on it for a sense of excitement and energy. How does urgency feel? Stressful? Pressured? Tense? Exhausting? Sure. But let’s be honest. It’s also sometimes exhilarating. We feel useful. We feel successful. We feel validated. And we get good at it. Whenever there’s trouble, we ride into town, pull out our six shooter, do the varmit in, blow the smoke off the gun barrel, and ride into the sunset like a hero. It brings instant results and instant gratification.”

I wonder if Martha was feeling the pangs of urgency addiction when she said to Jesus; “Master, don’t you care that my sister has abandoned the kitchen to me? Tell her to lend me a hand.” The Master said, “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.” I have to admit, I missed out on some quality time in the presence of My Lord and My family because of urgency’s lie. Urgency seemed noble at the time. However, urgency left unchecked led to failure. I failed to prioritize and put “First things First.” I now know that God and my family are the very first things of first things; no matter who thinks otherwise. I pray I never again forget this: after all, who makes time for who; God for man or man for God?

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Gleanings

Leave a Reply

