MODEL AIRPLANES

When I was young, I attempted to put together model airplanes. I say, “attempted” because I never had the patience and took the time to read the instructions that came with the model kit. The picture on the box attracted me. So, I would beg my parents to buy me the model, which most of the time they did. After getting home from the store I would head straight to my room and “attempt” to put it together. I would start grabbing parts and gluing parts, and grabbing more parts, and gluing parts. This cycle would go on for awhile, then when I finished I stepped back and gazed upon my creation. I never liked what I saw. Why? Because usually a wing would end up where the tail was supposed to be, and the propeller wound up where the landing gear should have been. Without the instructions/directions these models never developed into the image and likeness of the original. I became distraught and frustrated by my own doing.

For many years, impatience and instant gratification took its toll on my life. My life became unmanageable, and broken. Being Christian, and in a state of desperation I cried out “God! What can I do to add value and correctness to my life?” He said, “Well, the fact that you are saved by Grace, know me, and recognize the Holy Spirit is a great start. However, have you considered the power of my Word?” I replied, “What does your word have to do with me?” He explained, “You were engineered according to my word. My word contains the blue print, and pattern intended to help you live an abundant life. This pattern does you little good if it is not known or regularly consulted. Another thing, the enemy loves a man that rarely consults my Word.” I responded, “But, it is so much easier to listen to and pay a psychologist.” “Yes, this is true. However, do you desire temporary help or permanent healing?” He said.

Since taking God’s word seriously can I say everything I’ve done has turned out perfect? No. But, I can say this: The wing and tail end up where they belong, the propeller finds its proper place, and the landing gear supports the body. Plus, the image and likeness of the original is closer than it has ever been.

Psalm 119:1-9 (MSG):

You’re blessed when you stay on course,
walking steadily on the road revealed by God.
You’re blessed when you follow his directions,
doing your best to find him.
That’s right—you don’t go off on your own;
you walk straight along the road he set.
You, God, prescribed the right way to live;
now you expect us to live it.
Oh, that my steps might be steady,
keeping to the course you set;
Then I’d never have any regrets
in comparing my life with your counsel.
I thank you for speaking straight from your heart;
I learn the pattern of your righteous ways.
I’m going to do what you tell me to do;
don’t ever walk off and leave me

Leave a comment

October 16, 2013 · 12:23 pm

Leave a Reply

