The Same Spirit

Our Brother in The Lord; Joe F. asked a question on FB a while ago.  It was something like this “Of all the characters in the bible, both OT and NT.  What character do you most identify with?”  I believe this was an awesome question.  I believe it helps us understand each other and our self on a deeper level.  I don’t particularly remember how I answered the question.  However, I do remember why I chose the characters I did.  I chose them because I could relate and identify with them.  However, the majority of the things I identified with were the character’s weaknesses. Hardly, did I identify myself with their strengths.  I believe this told me something about how I saw myself.  Maybe I was so content in identifying with a biblical character, that I forgot to realize, the Holy Spirit in me, allows me to identify with their strengths as well.

Apostle Peter has been on my mind lately.  I have been wading through the book of Acts.  Specifically, Acts 9:40; this is where Peter called upon the Spirit of Christ within him to bring Tabitha (Dorcas) back to life.  After reading this I see Peter in a different light.  No longer do I see him as the guy who made a lot of mistakes and bad decisions.  No, I now see him as a man who unconditionally believed in Jesus, a man who constantly stepped out in faith, and a man who believed in all the promises given to him by Jesus.  On one occasion he saw Jesus raise a young girl (Mark 5:41).  So, Peter, believing he was filled with the Spirit of Christ and its power, knew he could help.  It was Peter’s faith which convinced him he could do what Jesus said he could and He did.  I challenge you to follow the accounts of Jairus’ daughter (Mark 5) and Tabitha (Acts 9).  You will see that Peter followed Jesus example very closely.  The one difference that stands out:  Jesus stood and said, “Arise” whereas, Peter kneeled as said, “”Tabitha, sit up.”  The contrast here is to show that Christ is the only one who brings people to life.  Peter understood this, and in reverence to the Spirit of Christ, he remained kneeling as the Holy Spirit worked to breathe life into Tabitha.  Peter himself may not have brought Tabitha to life; however, his faith provided Holy Spirit opportunity to do so.

Joe, my Brother, I thank you for such a thought provoking question.  I now realize, because of the Holy Spirit inside of me.  I no longer have to feel inadequate, when it comes to wondering if I have the same Spirit and the same Power within me

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Gleanings

Leave a Reply

