Do I dare call you friend, if I don’t truly know you?

“Jesus spent many hours of quality time with His disciples before He called them “Friends”. He took time to listen to them, He took time to teach them, and He took time to mentor them. This is the true model of discipleship.  The title of “Friend” takes preparation through time gathered personal
knowledge of the intended. Friendship requires investment of selfless energy; an energy that is freely given to another. Jesus said to his disciples, “No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” (John 15:15) True friendship isn’t appointed; it’s cultivated.  In the culture of current humanity; acquaintances are many, and friends are few. I believe this epidemic will continue until selfless discipleship becomes a reality.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Gleanings

Leave a Reply

